Tags

, ,

I’m having a slight holiday mishap… I can’t find my aunt’s beloved pie recipe!  My husband and I moved out west not too long ago and although we’re mostly unpacked I haven’t organized everything so much as I’ve stuffed things away in a rush without paying much attention to what I was doing… so with my recipe book MIA I have had to locate a similar recipe via google and my most accurate memories – here’s what I came up with:

Kentucky Derby Chocolate Walnut Pie

Kentucky bourbon chocolate walnut pie is traditionally served at the annual Kentucky Derby Horse race. This pie recipe is similar to the Melrose Inn’s famous version which has been served at the race for over 50 years.Makes 1 Kentucky Bourbon Chocolate Walnut Pie

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Cook Time: 45 minutes

Total Time: 50 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 2 tablespoons Kentucky bourbon
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 ready-made piecrust

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.Combine flour and sugar in a mixing bowl. Add the eggs and butter; mix to combine. Stir in the bourbon, walnuts, chocolate chips, vanilla, and salt. Pour the mixture into the unbaked piecrust. Bake for 40 to 45 minutes. Let cool before slicing.

…at least I think this is close to what the pie of my childhood dreams was like… I found some recipe versions online that include pecans, but I’m fairly certain about the walnuts.  Dunno about the bourbon though…?  I MUST have this pie and eat it too…very SOON!  Wish me luck : )

Here’s another recipe I plan to use this year – I found this in the Winter 2004 edition of People Extra and I’ve been using it ever since.  I just love sweet, starchy foods mixed together PLUS it’s Tori Amos’ recipe so that makes it extra awesome!

